‘Complex Plain’?

2018-01-21

It’s been a week since the semester started, 3 weeks since 2018. I have a book on my desk which I’ve been reading for 2 weeks now and I hope to finish it in the next couple of days. I’m a slow reader. I have nothing to say today. I’m not a writer, and that’s part of the reason I decided to start this blog. By the end of this year, if I post one piece per week, Complex Plain should be populated by 52 posts. Not much, I know, but it’s the bare minimum I need to write to  consider this project a success. I expect by the end of the year to see a significant improvement in the quality of my writing, and also an increase in the frequency with which I post. I’ll write a review of the book I’m reading once I’m done with it, which should be some time next week.

 

The name of this blog is an attempted oxymoronic twist of the mathematical concept of the complex plane, which consists of the regular numberline (the real axis) along the x-axis of a usual x-y plane (a graph sheet) and the imaginary axis along the usual y-axis.

complexplane_edit

 

The image above is taken from the book One, Two, Three…Infinity: Facts and Speculations of Science by George Gamow. It is a fantastic book on the story of mathematics and I’d recommend this to anyone, even those who haven’t studied maths formally.

 

The book that I am currently reading is The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins, which will be the subject of my next post. Stay tuned…

Leave a comment